Arsenal lucky Saka wasn’t sent off against Burnley, says Dyche

Arsenal drew 1-1 with Burnley after Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang’s sixth-minute opener was cancelled out by Chris Wood intercepting a pass from Granit Xhaka inside his own box.

The Gunners pressed on for a winner after that and felt aggrieved they did not get a handball with 15 minutes to go when the ball struck Erik Pieters’ arm in the box after Nicolas Pepe had tried to flick it over him.

Both referee Andre Marriner and VAR waved away Arsenal’s protests, though, and Mikel Arteta’s side had to settle for a point.

Dyche, however, feels Burnley were denied a penalty too as he believes Saka caught Matej Vydra in the box.

The 19-year-old was also booked during the defeat and Dyche added too that Saka could have been shown a second yellow.

Speaking to talkSPORT after the game, Dyche said: “If you want to go on about VAR, you know Saka and how many fouls he had today? You know he got booked and did you see the fouls after? He clipped Matej Vydra in box. You know what happens when you clip players in the box.

“I am (surprised it didn’t go to VAR) and the reason is this. I’ve spoken many times over the last year or so, people get touched on their shoulders and are going down for penalties.

“Vydra has clearly been stuck on his foot and it’s deviated his foot from striking the ball. What level of contact is it? That’s the thing we are all asking as managers.

“People are touching shoulders and legs back and it’s a penalty. He clearly hits his foot and deviates him from striking the ball properly.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button