Australia vs South Africa: T20 World Cup preview


wo cricketing powerhouses yet to taste T20 World Cup glory go head-to-head as the tournament’s Super 12 stage gets underway on Saturday.

Neither Australia nor South Africa have ever lifted the trophy, with the former beaten by England on their sole final appearance in 2010 and the latter never even having made it that far.

Both sides no the importance of getting off to a good start, with matches against two of the favourites for the tournament, England and West Indies, to come later in the Super 12 and only the top two teams in each group progressing to the semi-finals.

Expectations for both are low. The Aussies have had a string of disastrous results in the shortest format of the game, albeit with weakened sides, while the Proteas are still trying to move on from the likes of AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis and Imran Tahir, all of whom are still excelling in franchise cricket.

Date, UK start time and venue 

Australia vs South Africa is scheduled for a 11am BST start on Saturday, October 23, 2021.

The match will be played at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Where to watch Australia vs South Africa

TV channel: The match will be televised on Sky Sports Cricket and Main Event channels.

Live stream: Sky Sports subscribers will be able to watch the match online via the website or Sky Go app.

Australia vs South Africa team news

Australia are expected to persist with Aaron Finch and David Warner at the top of the order despite their lack of form, so Josh Inglis will likely miss out, while Mitchell Marsh will bat at No3 and Steve Smith at No4.

In the bowling department, the main decision will be as to whether to play both spinners Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa.

Squad: Aaron Finch, Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

South Africa have resisted the temptation to bring back the likes of Tahir, De Villiers and Du Plessis despite their IPL performances.

On the batting side of things, much rests on the shoulders of Quinton de Kock, but their bowling attack is up there with the best in the tournament, spearheaded by the pace of Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje.

Squad: Temba Bavuma, Keshav Maharaj, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, W Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen

Australia vs South Africa prediction

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button