Ballon d’Or 2021: How to watch and shortlist in full


t’s that time of year again when the greatest footballer on the planet is set to be crowned with the awarding of the prestigious Ballon d’Or trophy.

The award, presented by French magazine France Football, is one of the game’s most revered individual prizes and was not awarded last season because of Covid disruption to the football calendar.

Prior to that, in 2019, Lionel Messi claimed his sixth trophy and the Argentine is among the favourites to make it seven at the end of a tumultuous year in which he left Barcelona to join PSG.

Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski and Liverpool star Mo Salah are also leading contenders, as is Chelsea midfielder Jorginho, after his role in the Blues’ Champions League win and Italy’s Euro 2020 triumph.

Here’s everything you need to know…

When will the 2021 Ballon d’Or winner be announced?

The winner will be crowned on Monday, November 29, at a gala Chatelet Theatre in Paris, with the ceremony starting around 7:30pm GMT.

How to watch the 2021 Ballon d’Or ceremony

French outlet L’Equipe will be streaming the ceremony live on their Youtube channel from 7:30pm.

The ceremony will also be available to stream via Eurosport’s website and app.

You can also follow the ceremony with Standard Sport’s LIVE blog.

Ballon d’Or shortlist in full

  • Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)
  • Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  • Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
  • Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
  • Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
  • Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Jorginho (Chelsea)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham)
  • N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)
  • Simon Kjaer (AC Milan)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  • Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)
  • Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)
  • Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  • Gerard Moreno (Villarreal)
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea)
  • Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Pedri (Barcelona)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
  • Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid)

What other awards are up for grabs?

The women’s Ballon d’Or winner will also be announced, with five Chelsea players on the 20-strong shortlist, which also includes Arsenal star Vivianne Miedema and England striker Ellen White.

Plus, the Kopa Trophy, for the best men’s U21 player, and Yashin Trophy, for best goalkeeper, will also be handed out.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button