Carabao Cup draw details as Arsenal, Leeds and Aston Villa await opponents

Some big clubs enter the competition with 13 Premier League teams joining those who have already made it safely through

Video Loading

Video Unavailable

Manchester City clinch Carabao Cup against Tottenham

The Carabao Cup threw up its fair share of shocks in the first round on Tuesday night.

No fewer than seven Championship sides exited the competition – six of those losing to lower league opposition.

Blackburn Rovers lost 2-1 to League One side Morecambe whilst second tier newcomers Peterborough were emphatically dumped out, losing 4-0 to Plymouth Argyle.

Elsewhere Luton Town, Barnsley, Bristol City and Hull City all lost on penalties to teams from lower divisions whilst a youthful Reading were beaten by fellow Championship rivals Swansea City.

There are five further ties tonight.

In total, there will be 50 teams in the second round. The 35 winners will be joined by West Bromwich Albion, Fulham and the 13 Premier League sides that are not in European competition this season.

Manchester City have won the Carabao Cup for the past four seasons

They include Arsenal – who missed out on European football for the first time in 26 years last season – as well as five-time League Cup winners Aston Villa and other multiple winners Wolves and Norwich City.

The draw will be broadcast live on Sky Sports , following the climax of Leyton Orient’s meeting with 1967 winners QPR, and remains split on a north and south regional basis.

Teams entering the draw for second round of Carabao Cup

Premier League


Aston Villa


Brighton and Hove Albion


Crystal Palace


Leeds United

Newcastle United

Norwich City



Wolverhampton Wanderers


Birmingham City


Cardiff City

Derby County


Huddersfield Town


Preston North End

Sheffield United

Stoke City

Swansea City

West Bromwich Albion

League One

Accrington Stanley

Bolton Wanderers

Cambridge United

Cheltenham Town

Crewe Alexandra

Doncaster Rovers



Plymouth Argyle



Wigan Athletic



League Two


Forest Green Rovers

Newport County

Oldham Athletic



Ties to be decided tonight

Blackpool v Middlesbrough

Nottingham Forest v Bradford City

Burton Albion v Oxford United

Coventry City v Northampton Town

Leyton Orient v Queens Park Rangers

* Second round ties scheduled to be played w/c August 23.

Sign up to the Mirror Football email here for the latest news and transfer gossip

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button