Carabao Cup third round draw: Time, ball numbers and how to watch


he Carabao Cup third round marks the point at which the Premier League’s biggest hitters join the fray, and they will tonight learn their fate.

After the second round ties wrap up this week, the final seven teams yet to start their campaigns will enter the draw and the road to Wembley will be laid out properly before us.

Defending champions Manchester City will be looking to continue their remarkable recent record in the competition, having won the last four renewals.

City share the record for the most victories in the competition’s history with Liverpool, both clubs having won it eight times, while last year’s beaten finalists Tottenham will once again be looking to the tournament as a chance to end their trophy drought.

Here’s everything you need to know about the third round draw…

Getty Images

When is the Carabao Cup third round draw?

Date: The Carabao Cup third round draw will take place on Wednesday, 25 August.

UK time: The draw will take place immediately after West Brom vs Arsenal so is expected to get underway around 9.45pm, unless that match goes to penalties.

How to watch the Carabao Cup third round draw in the UK

TV channel: The third round draw will be broadcast live on Sky Sports following their coverage of Arsenal’s second round clash with West Brom.

Live stream: Sky Sports subscribers can watch the draw online via the SkyGo app.

Which teams have qualified for the Carabao Cup third round?

All seven Premier League teams involved in European competition qualify automatically for the third round: Manchester City, Man United, Liverpool, Chelsea, Leicester, West Ham and Tottenham.

The following teams qualified after winning their second round ties on Tuesday: Oldham, Aston Villa, Sunderland, Everton, Leeds, Preston, Sheffield United, Rochdale, Stoke, Wigan, Wolves, Norwich, Swansea, Brentford, Fulham, Brighton, Cheltenham, Millwall, AFC Wimbledon, QPR, Wycombe, Watford.

The final three teams will be confirmed on Wednesday night: West Brom/Arsenal, Newcastle/Burnley, Newport County/Southampton.

Getty Images

Carabao Cup third round ball numbers

30 – Newcastle or Burnley

31 – Newport County or Southampton

32 – West Brom or Arsenal

You can also follow the draw across Standard Sport’s LIVE blog.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button