The striker used the Spanish term “negrito”, which translates as “black”, in an Instagram post following his brace in Manchester United’s win at Southampton last month. The Uruguayan deleted the post and apologised.
However, he has now been charged with an “aggravated breach” of the FA’s misconduct rules, as the post “included reference, whether express or implied, to colour and/or race and/or ethnic origin.”
Cavani has until January 4 to respond, though United defended their player and said both parties would “consider the charge”.
A statement from United read: “Manchester United and all of our players are fully committed to the fight against racism and we will continue to work with the FA along with other governing bodies and organisations, and through our own campaigns in that regard.”