Sports

Chelsea vs Man United penalty decision divides Tuchel and Solskjaer

Following a Video Assistant Referee (VAR) check, match official Stuart Attwell decided that Hudson-Odoi had not deliberately handled the ball when clashing with Mason Greenwood in the Chelsea penalty area.

United manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer insisted United should have been awarded a spot-kick, and railed against what he perceives as attempts from rival bosses to influence officials.

Asked if he had been given an explanation as to why United’s penalty claim was rejected, Solskjaer said: “No. They probably thought his hand was in a very natural position when he flicked that ball.

“It’s gone now. Obviously they thought his hand was in a natural position when he flicked the ball.

“I’m a bit concerned we don’t get those penalties after what noises were made a month or two about us getting penalties. There is a point of managers influencing the referees.”

Confirming he was referring to former Chelsea boss Frank Lampard in terms of historic attempts from other managers to influence referees, Solskjaer continued: “That’s just the nature of us as managers isn’t it?

“If anything goes against you, you probably want to highlight it. I trust the referees not to be influenced by it.

Getty Images

“But I was very surprised by this decision. Live, I didn’t think it was a penalty, so I understand why he didn’t give it straight away.

“But looking back, it’s not a very natural position to have your hand in.”

However, Chelsea boss Tuchel remained nonplussed on United’s frustrations about the penalty not being awarded.

“I was surprised, I’m still surprised, because I didn’t see it live where the penalty should come from,” said Tuchel.

“When we checked the pictures I could not see any incident that would qualify for a penalty. But maybe I have to look at it again.

“Until now I don’t know why it should have to be a penalty.”

United full-back Luke Shaw said referee Stuart Attwell insisted awarding a penalty would have caused “a lot of talk after”.

Addressing Hudson-Odoi’s potential handball, Shaw told Sky Sports: “At the time I saw a handball and didn’t know if it was Mason (Greenwood) or Callum.

“I didn’t know it was a potential check and that they needed to stop it (the game) if it wasn’t going to be a pen.

“But I heard the ref say to H (Maguire), ‘if I give a pen it’s going to cause a lot of talk after’. H was told it was a pen by VAR, but I’m not going to moan.”

Additional reporting by PA.


Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button