Sports

Clattenburg wants law changed after controversial Liverpool vs Everton decision

Mark Clattenburg has called for a law to be changed following the Merseyside derby.

Liverpool were beaten 2-0 by rivals Everton on Sunday, with a contentious penalty being awarded to the Toffees in the second half at Anfield.

Dominic Calvert-Lewin was tripped by Trent Alexander-Arnold in the Liverpool box as he attempted to hurdle the defender to get a shot away.

Referee Chris Kavanagh pointed to the spot before referring to VAR to check the replay.

After reviewing the foul, Kavanagh stuck by his original decision and Gylfi Sigurdsson doubled Everton’s lead after Richarlison’s first half goal.

Former Premier League referee Clattenburg says the correct call was made as Alexander-Arnold did impede Calvert-Lewin. He also believes the Liverpool defender could have seen red as ‘intent’ is not considered in the law.

Mark Clattenburg has called for a law to be changed

But Clattenburg is glad common sense prevailed and Alexander-Arnold wasn’t given his marching orders, and has suggested the ‘intent’ law should be changed to avoid referees feeling under pressure to brandish red cards for similar incidents in the future.

“Dominic Calvert-Lewin had an open goal, so there was no reason for him to dive,” he said in his Daily Mail column. “As he hurdled Trent Alexander-Arnold to get to the ball, the Liverpool full back lifted his head and created contact.

“It was a penalty, but it was good to see common sense prevail and Alexander-Arnold avoid a red card.

“The 22-year-old could have been dismissed for the denial of an obvious goalscoring opportunity with no attempt to play the ball, if referee Chris Kavanagh had followed the same principles which saw David Luiz shown red at Wolves.

Dominic Calvert-Lewin was tripped by Trent Alexander-Arnold
Dominic Calvert-Lewin was tripped by Trent Alexander-Arnold

All the latest big football stories, transfer exclusives, hard-hitting analysis and unmissable features will be sent directly to your inbox every day.

You sign sign up to our newsletter here.

“The Arsenal defender made accidental contact with Willian Jose, resulting in a penalty and a sending-off.

“Kavanagh spent mere seconds at his monitor. It wasn’t to check whether it was a penalty — he and VAR Andre Marriner accepted it was — but whether Alexander-Arnold should be red-carded.

“Kavanagh applied the spirit of the law and decided not to further punish Liverpool. To avoid any more incorrect reds like the one for Luiz, the law should be changed.”




Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button