Daly recalled for England’s Six Nations finale against Ireland

Daly starts at outside centre, his preferred position, for just the second time for England – with the first coming in 2016, his first year of Test rugby.

He has largely played in the back three for England, and had a mixed time of it at full-back. He was left on the bench for the win over France last week, with Max Malins preferred in the No15 jersey, but Jones said that was in part due to an injury Daly had suffered in training.

Daly made an impact off the bench against France and Slade’s injury – which he suffered in training on Monday – provides him with an immediate return to the starting XV.

Jones chose Daly ahead of Ollie Lawrence, who started the opening game of the tournament – the defeat to Scotland – at centre, and has only been seen fleetingly since. He is on the bench alongside the Harlequins centre Joe Marchant, who was called up as cover for Slade. The uncapped Wasps back Paolo Odogwu misses out.

Up front, Jones has stuck with the same pack that operated well against France

reports suggested that Jones was considering throwing George Martin, the teenage lock who has started just three times for his club Leicester Tigers, in on the blindside, but he Mark Wilson retains his place, and Martin is not even on the bench (he was an unused replacement against Wales last month).

Luke Cowan-Dickie has kept his starting spot ahead of Jamie George.

“We’re anticipating a hard, tough game against Ireland and we’ve picked this team to cope with that,” said Jones.

“We want to take it to Ireland physically and play the rugby we want to play.”

England cannot win the Championship with victory in Dublin, but it would see a curious campaign end on a high. They began slowly, losing at home to Scotland for the first time in 38 years, then also lost in Cardiff before a much-improved performance against France.

England XV: Max Malins, Anthony Watson, Elliot Daly, Owen Farrell, Jonny May, George Ford, Ben Youngs, Mako Vunipola, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Kyle Sinckler, Maro Itoje, Charlie Ewels, Mark Wilson, Tom Curry, Billy Vunipola

Replacements: Jamie George, Ellis Genge, Will Stuart, Jonny Hill, Ben Earl, Dan Robson, Ollie Lawrence, Joe Marchant

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button