De Bruyne named PFA Player of the Year for second time in a row

The Belgian international scored six league goals and racked up 12 assists as City romped to the title, while Pep Guardiola’s side also lifted the League Cup and reached the Champions League final for the first time.

City defender Ruben Dias had been named Player of the Year by both the Premier League and Football Writers’ Association, but it is his teammate who has been recognised by his peers.

Meanwhile, Chelsea star Fran Kirby claimed the women’s award after her side’s phenomenal title-winning campaign, beating teammates Sam Kerr and Ann-Katrin Berger to the prize.

England starlet Phil Foden had already been named PFA Young Player of the Year, with Man City also dominating the PFA Team of the Year, with De Bruyne one of six players selected, alongside Dias, John Stones, Ederson, Ilkay Gundogan and Joao Cancelo.

Only four teams were represented in all, with Manchester United pair Luke Shaw and Bruno Fernandes, Tottenham duo Harry Kane and Heung-min Son and Liverpool’s Mo Salah completing the line-up.

De Bruyne was absent from Belgium’s squad for their final pre-Euro 2020 friendly against Croatia on Sunday evening after suffering a facial injury in a clash with Chelsea’s Antonio Rudiger during the Champions League final defeat.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button