England star Moeen lifts IPL title as he beats Morgan’s Kolkata Knight Riders

Moeen Ali smoked 37 not out off 20 balls in the IPL final to help the Chennai Super Kings win their fourth Indian Premier League title

Video Loading

Video Unavailable

Moeen Ali retires from Test cricket

England star Moeen Ali has won the Indian Premier League this year, scoring 37 runs in the final as his Chennai Super Kings side defeated Eoin Morgan ‘s Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs.

After Kolkata won the toss and opted to bowl first, Chennai posted an imposing total of 192-3.

Faf du Plessis was the star of the show for the Super Kings, scoring a fabulous 86 off 59 balls and further highlighting why it was such a bizarre decision for South Africa to leave him out of their T20 World Cup squad.

He was well-supported by Ruturaj Gaikwad (32), Robin Uthappa (31) and Moeen (37) and was eventually dismissed off the final ball of the innings, attempting to smash Shivam Mavi for yet another six.

Moeen Ali smoked 37 not out off 20 balls in the IPL final to help the Chennai Super Kings win their fourth IPL title



Moeen furthered his case for a starting berth in England’s side for their opening World Cup clash with a return to his fluent best, serenely striking 37 not out off 20 balls.

New Zealand quick Lockie Ferguson was punished by the Chennai batters, failing to pick up a wicket and conceding 56 runs from his four overs.

Sunil Narine was the only real standout with the ball for Kolkata, with the off-spinner picking up 2-26 from his quota.

In response, Kolkata needed Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer to get off to an excellent start and they did just that, putting on a 91-run partnership.

Chennai did have the opportunity to dismiss Iyer early, but captain MS Dhoni gave him a lifeline, dropping a relatively simple chance in just the second over.

And Iyer went on to punish the Chennai captain, smashing a half-century before he was dismissed.

Gill was also handed a reprieve, after his dismissal was overturned because the ball hit the spidercam before he was caught.

Despite both openers reaching fifty, Kolkata experienced a major collapse with Nitish Rana, Narine, Dinesh Karthik, Shakib Al Hasan, Rahul Tripathi and captain Morgan all falling for single figure scores.

Kolkata ultimately ended up 27 runs short of Chennai’s total, with Dhoni’s side winning their fourth IPL title in comprehensive fashion.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button