Euro 2020 pundit line-ups compared as BBC and ITV battle it out

A year later than anticipated, the European Championship is almost upon us, with a summer of thrilling International football set to lighten the post-pandemic mood.

There is plenty of expectation on Gareth Southgate and England to perform, especially when they meet the ‘auld enemy’ in Steve Clarke’s Scotland in the group stages.

All eyes will be glued to screens more than ever, with capacities for stadiums still a little unclear.

Luckily, the BBC and ITV, who are showing all the matches in the UK between them, have lined up better punditry teams than ever for the tournament.

There is still some debate around who should make Southgate’s 26-man squad for the month long tournament, which will culminate in a Wembley final.

Euro 2020 is just weeks away now

But there is no guesswork needed when it comes to who will be analysing the 51 fixtures across 11 host cities for the British broadcasters.

For the BBC, English quartet Alan Shearer, Alex Scott, Rio Ferdinand and Micah Richards will be joined by Welsh duo Ashley Williams and Mark Hughes, while the Scottish trio of James McFadden, Shelley Kerr and Charlie Adam will also be seen on screen, with the Tartan Army taking part in their first tournament since 1998.

Meanwhile, Germany legend Jurgen Klinsmann has also been called up, as have ex-Arsenal duo Thierry Henry and Cesc Fabregas.

The full BBC line-up for this summer’s tournament

For ITV, the familiar faces of Ian Wright, Gary Neville and Ashley Cole will all sit in, alongside Roy Keane and Graeme Souness, who have both worked extensively for Sky Sports in recent years.

Lionesses legend Eni Aluko will also provide expertise, alongside with Chelsea Women manager Emma Hayes, Arsenal Invincible Patrick Vieira and PSG striker Nadia Nadim.

Ex-Wales pair Joe Ledley and Robert Earnshaw will give the lowdown on the Dragons, while former Scotland internationals Scott Brown and John Collins are set to give their verdict.

The full ITV line-up for Euro 2020

2010 World Cup finalist with the Netherlands, Nigel de Jong, wraps up the list for ITV, alongside Crystal Palace winger Andros Townsend.

BBC: Alan Shearer, Alex Scott, Rio Ferdinand, Micah Richards, Ashley Williams, Mark Hughes, James McFadden, Shelley Kerr, Charlie Adam, Thierry Henry, Cesc Fabregas, Jurgen Klinsmann

ITV: Ian Wright, Roy Keane, Gary Neville, Patrick Vieira, Graeme Souness, Ashley Cole, Eni Aluko, Robert Earnshaw, Emma Hayes, Nigel de Jong, John Collins, Joe Ledley, Nadia Nadim, Scott Brown and Andros Townsend

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button