European Golden Shoe rankings as Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi trail

With all of Europe’s top five leagues reaching the finish line this weekend, the race for the continent’s prestigious Golden Shoe will also come to an end.

The award is given to the leading goalscorer in league matches across the top division of each European country over the course of a season – with the added caveat of it depending on how UEFA rank each division in terms of their coefficient (AKA: how good a division is in the federation’s eyes).

Last year, Lazio’s Ciro Immobile topped the charts with 36 Serie A strikes, beating Robert Lewandowski by two efforts.

This year, though, the Bayern Munich marksman is leading the way – and by a distance.

Robert Lewandowski continues to prove he is one of world football’s leading strikers

The Poland skipper, 32, sits on a whopping 40 goals from just 28 Bundesliga appearances with one game remaining.

His most recent strike, a penalty in Saturday’s 2-2 draw at Freiburg, matched Gerd Muller’s league record which stood untouched for 39 years.

Lewandowski paid respect to the former Bayern hitman by revealing a shirt underneath his jersey as he celebrated, which read: “4EVER GERD.”

Ten of the last 12 Golden Shoes prior to Immobile’s tally in 2019/20 had been won by either Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo – one of which was shared.

However, neither of the 21st century behemoths have much chance of reclaiming the award.

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo will not be adding another European Golden Shoe to their collection this year
Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo will not be adding another European Golden Shoe to their collection this year

Although the pair admirably sit second and third respectively, with Messi on 30 and Ronaldo one behind, they trail Lewandowski by double figures.

Eintracht Frankfurt’s Portuguese poacher Andre Silva sits fourth on 27 strikes, with Messi and Ronaldo’s widely-regarded heirs, Kylian Mbappe and Erling Haaland, sitting in fifth and sixth spot with 26 and 25, respectively.

Villarreal talisman Gerard Moreno and former Man United striker Romelu Lukaku currently occupy seventh and eighth place, each with 23 efforts to their name.

Tottenham Hotspur’s Harry Kane, Real Madrid ’s Karim Benzema, Liverpool ’s Mohamed Salah and Atalanta’s Luis Muriel each boast 22 strikes, making up ninth to twelfth.

Notably, other marksmen on the continent such as Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium), Kasper Junker (FK Bodø/Glimt, Norway) and Patson Daka (RB Salzburg, Austria) all boast over 25 goals, but rank lower in the table due to their respective leagues’ coefficient points.

Special mention to Crotone striker Simy, who has managed 20 goals in Serie A despite his side sitting second-bottom of the table.

With one match – or two in the Premier League ’s case – remaining for each available player, the winner seems set but there could be some switches further down the table.

European Golden Shoe rankings (goals)

  1. Robert Lewandowski – Bayern Munich, Bundesliga (40)

  2. Lionel Messi – Barcelona, La Liga (30)

  3. Cristiano Ronaldo – Juventus, Serie A (29)

  4. Andre Silva – Eintracht Frankfurt, Bundesliga (27)

  5. Kylian Mbappe – Paris Saint-Germain, Ligue 1 (26)

  6. Erling Haaland – Borussia Dortmund, Bundesliga (25)

  7. Gerard Moreno – Villarreal, La Liga (23)

  8. Romelu Lukaku – Inter Milan, Serie A (23)

  9. Harry Kane – Tottenham Hotspur, Premier League (22)

  10. Karim Benzema – Real Madrid, La Liga (22)

  11. Luis Muriel – Atalanta, Serie A (22)

  12. Mohamed Salah – Liverpool, Premier League (22)

  13. Paul Onuachu – KRC Genk, Jupiler Pro League (29)

  14. Dusan Vlahovic – Fiorentina, Serie A (21)

  15. Kasper Junker – FK Bodø/Glimt, Eliteserien (27)

  16. Patson Daka – RB Salzburg, Austrian Bundesliga (27)

  17. Luis Suarez – Atletico Madrid, La Liga (20)

  18. Wout Weghorst – Wolfsburg, Bundesliga (20)

  19. Ciro Immobile – Lazio, Serie A (20)

  20. Memphis Depay – Lyon, Ligue 1 (20)

  21. Wissam Ben Yedder – AS Monaco, Ligue 1 (20)

  22. Simy – Crotone, Serie A (20)

  23. Georgios Giakoumakis – VVV-Venlo, Eredivisie (26)

  24. Andrej Kramaric – Hoffenheim, Bundesliga (19)

  25. Lorenzo Insigne – Napoli, Serie A (19)

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button