F1 2022 calendar confirmed with British GP date and two races in US – but no China


ormula One has confirmed a bumper 23-race schedule for the 2022 season, including the British Grand Prix on July 3.

But two pandemic-hit years, leading to reduced and improvised calendars, have only increased F1 bosses’ appetite for taking the show on the road to more destinations.

The 2022 season will see F1 race in the United States twice, starting with the new Miami GP on May 8 around the city’s Hard Rock Stadium, before a trip to Austin on October 23.

Saudi Arabia’s Jeddah street circuit will move up the calendar to host the second race, on March 27, following its status as the penultimate event this year.

In an effort to satisfy fans of old-school circuits, Imola will remain on the calendar along with fellow iconic Italian track Monza. Montreal, Suzuka and Melbourne also return after two years away due to coronavirus restrictions although the pandemic has ruled out a race in China.

Australia will not host the opening race, an honour which is being taken by Bahrain for lights out on March 20. The season ends in Abu Dhabi on November 20.

Two consecutive triple-headers are in the books after the summer break with the Belgian, Dutch and Italian races held between August 28 and September 11. The Russian, Singapore and Japanese GPs then take place on consecutive weekends between September 25 and October 9.

Full 2022 F1 calendar:

March 20 – Bahrain GP – Sakhir

March 27 – Saudi Arabian GP – Jeddah

April 10 – Australian GP – Melbourne

April 24 – Emilia Romagna GP – Imola

May 22 – Spanish GP – Barcelona

May 29 – Monaco GP – Monaco

June 12 – Azerbaijan GP – Baku

June 19 – Canadian GP – Montreal

July 3 – British GP – Silverstone

July 10 – Austrian GP – Spielberg

July 24 – French GP – Le Castellet

July 31 – Hungarian GP – Budapest

August 28 – Belgian GP – Spa

September 4 – Dutch GP – Zandvoort

September 11 – Italian GP – Monza

September 25 – Russian GP – Sochi

October 2 – Singapore GP – Singapore

October 9 – Japan GP – Suzuka

October 23 – United States GP – Austin

October 30 – Mexican GP – Mexico City

November 13 – Brazilian GP – Interlagos

November 20 – Abu Dhabi GP – Yas Marina

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button