Four England stars named in ICC Test team of the decade


ngland had four players named in the ICC’s Men’s Test team of the decade, but were largely snubbed in the shorter formats – despite having won T20 and ODI World Cups during the voting period.

India’s Virat Kohli captains the side, with New Zealand’s Kane Williamson and Aussie pair Steve Smith and David Warner also part of the batting line-up. There is no place for England captain Joe Root, world cricket’s leading Test run scorer during the voting period.

Sri Lankan great Kumar Sangakkara is selected as wicketkeeper, despite not actually having worn the gloves in a Test match during the last ten years, with Ravi Ashwin and Dale Steyn joining Broad and Anderson in the bowling ranks.

Stokes was the only Englishman named in the ODI team of the decade, while no England player features in the men’s T20 team.

Kohli is the only player to feature in the team for all three formats, though Warner, AB de Villiers, Rohit Sharma, Lasith Malinga and MS Dhoni all feature in two, the latter as captain of both the ODI and T20 teams.

Wicketkeeper Sarah Taylor is the only England player named in the women’s ODI team, while bowler Anya Shrubsole, whose brilliant display secured a home World Cup win at Lord’s in 2017, is the sole T20 representative.

Men’s Test team of the decade

Cook, Warner, Williamson, Kohli (C), Smith, Sangakkara (WK), Stokes, Ashwin, Steyn, Broad, Anderson

Men’s ODI team of the decade

Sharma, Warner, Kohli, de Villiers, Al Hasan, Dhoni(C, WK), Stokes, Starc, Boult, Tahir, Malinga

Men’s T20 team of the decade

Sharma, Gayle, Finch, Kohli, de Villiers, Maxwell, Dhoni (C, WK), Pollard, Khan, Bumrah, Malinga

Women’s ODI team of the decade

Healy, Bates, Raj, Lanning (C), Stefanie Taylor, Sarah Taylor (WK), Perry, van Niekerk, Kapp, Goswami, Mohammed

Women’s T20 team of the decade

Healy (WK), Devine, Bates, Lanning (C), Kaur, Taylor, Dottin, Perry, Shrubsole, Schutt, Yadav

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button