Italy vs Belgium: Nations League third place play-off preview

Roberto Mancini’s Italy had a 37-match unbeaten run ended by Spain on Tuesday, and the European champions will be keen to get back on track in front of a home crowd.

Belgium, meanwhile, seemed to be cruising into Sunday’s showpiece final before a dramatic comeback from France.

Roberto Martinez has insisted he is fully focussed on his team despite continued links between the Spaniard and a potential vacancy at Barcelona.

England finished third at the last Nations League Finals.

Date, kick-off time and venue

Italy vs Belgium is scheduled for a 2pm BST kick-off on Sunday, October 10, 2021.

The match will take place at the Allianz Stadium, home of Juventus, in Turin, Italy.

Where to watch Italy vs Belgium

TV channel: Sunday’s third place play-off will be televised live on Sky Sports Football, with coverage beginning at 1.55pm.

Live stream: Sky Sports subscribers will also be able to watch the match online via the Sky Go app.

You can also follow all the action with Standard Sport’s LIVE match blog.

Italy vs Belgium team news

Italy will be without centre-half Leonardo Bonucci after his dismissal against Spain, while Roberto Mancini may look to give an opportunity to either Moise Kean or Giacomo Raspadori from the start, having named a side without a recognised centre forward in that semi-final.

Eden Hazard is a doubt for Belgium after the Real Madrid winger appeared to suffer another injury during the defeat to France.

Hazard had to be withdrawn shortly before full-time, with Martinez saying after the game that the injury would be assessed.

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris), Alex Meret (Napoli), Salvatore Sirigu (Genoa)

Defenders: Francesco Acerbi (Lazio), Alessandro Bastoni (Inter), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Davide Calabria (AC Milan), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Napoli), Federico Dimarco (Inter), Emerson (Lyon)

Midfielders: Nicolò Barella (Inter), Federico Bernardeschi (Juventus), Bryan Cristante (Roma), Jorginho (Chelsea), Manuel Locatelli (Juventus), Lorenzo Pellegrini (Roma), Marco Verratti (Paris)

Forwards: Domenico Berardi (Sassuolo), Federico Chiesa (Juventus), Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Moise Kean (Juventus), Giacomo Raspadori (Sassuolo)

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button