Italy vs Spain: Nations League semi-final preview

The heavyweight contest in Milan is a rematch of the European Championship last-four showdown from July, when Alvaro Morata’s goal cancelled out an effort from Federico Chiesa in a dramatic tie at Wembley, only for Morata to then crucially miss his penalty in the subsequent shootout as the Azzurri went on to lift the trophy by beating England via the same method.

It was the first time that Spain had ever lost a semi-final and they will be out for revenge here, having hit Germany for six back in November to claim top spot in Nations League group A4 and book their passage through to the finals.

Luis Enrique’s La Roja followed their painful Euros exit by losing a World Cup qualifier for the first time in 28 years against Sweden in Stockholm, though bounced back with consecutive victories over Georgia and Kosovo.

As for high-flying Italy, they are now unbeaten in a record 38 successive matches after following their Euros success with draws against Bulgaria and Switzerland and a 5-0 drubbing of Lithuania.

Roberto Mancini’s men topped Group A1 to get to this stage and will have their eyes firmly fixed on another trophy triumph.

The winners of Wednesday’s match advance through to the final against either France or Belgium in Milan on Sunday evening, while the losers of those ties will contest a third-place play-off in Turin on Saturday afternoon.

Date, kick-off time and venue

Italy vs Spain is scheduled for a 7:45pm BST kick-off on Wednesday, October 6, 2021.

The match will be held at the San Siro stadium in Milan, Italy.

Where to watch Italy vs Spain

TV channel: In the UK, the semi-final will be televised live on Sky Sports Football, with coverage beginning at 7:15pm.

Live stream: Sky Sports subscribers will also be able to watch the match live online via the Sky Go app.

Italy vs Spain team news

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris), Alex Meret (Napoli), Salvatore Sirigu (Genoa)

Defenders: Francesco Acerbi (Lazio), Alessandro Bastoni (Inter), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Davide Calabria (AC Milan), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Napoli), Federico Dimarco (Inter), Emerson (Lyon)

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button