Kane guilty of ‘dangerous play’ to win penalty, says Keown

Kane backed into a jumping Adam Lallana‘s path on the edge of the Brighton box to win the spot kick on Sunday night, duly converting from 12 yards as Spurs won 2-1.

It was the first of a number of flashpoints for referee Graham Scott, who had first awarded a free kick before upgrading to a penalty and then failed to award Brighton a spot kick of their own.

Brighton then appeared to foul Pierre-Emile Hojgbjerg in the build-up to their equaliser, which VAR flagged for Scott only for the referee to opt against penalising after a pitch-side review.

Keown highlighted Kane’s penalty, insisting it was not a foul on the striker and rather a “dangerous” move against Lallana, who lost his balance mid-air and fell on his opponent.

“The referee has had a really bad afternoon,” he said on Match of the Day 2. “This is Harry Kane, I believe he knows exactly what he is doing.

“He looks at his opponent, knows what he is going to do and makes a back for him. I think it is dangerous play from Harry Kane and he knows what he is doing and I don’t even think it is a penalty.”

Fellow pundit Peter Crouch added: “Kane knows what he is doing. He has looked at him twice, he knows Lallana is going to jump and he can get his back in there and maybe get a foul. Lallana only had eyes for the ball.”

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button