Man City star Dias named FWA Footballer of the Year


anchester City defender Ruben Dias has beaten Harry Kane to win the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year award.

The Portuguese has made an immense impact on Pep Guardiola’s side since his club-record £64.3million move from Benfica last year.

Announcing the winner, The FWA said Dias was a “comfortable winner” ahead of Kane and teammate Kevin de Bruyne, becoming the first defender to win the vote since Steve Nicol in 1989.

The 24-year-old has played a key role in guiding City to third Premier League title in four seasons, forming a formidable partnership with England defender John Stones at the heart of defence – and Dias has paid tribute to everyone at the club for their role in his performances.

“It is a huge privilege. Obviously I could not have done it without the success of the team,” Dias told the FWA.

“I think me receiving this prize is the major example of how our team works, the way we build our game.

“It reflects all the togetherness we have on the pitch, how we perform and the spirit that is in the team and with these players.

“Thank you to all my colleagues, the [Man City] staff, the physios, the kit men, the guys in the kitchen, that all bring a smile every day to the training ground to make us feel good, to make us feel ready, to make us feel the best way they can.

“All those details make a difference at the end.”

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button