Sports

MMA fighter wins bout despite headbutting opponent due to not knowing rules

Ritu Phogat claimed victory in her ONE Championship meeting with Jenelyn Olsim despite intentionally throwing a headbutt in the second round

Video Loading

Video Unavailable

MMA fighter wins fight after crushing rival’s THROAT

Ritu Phogat secured a ONE Championship victory over Jenelyn Olsim despite admitting to intentionally throwing a headbutt during the contest.

The 27-year-old was competing in the atomweight Grand-Prix semi-final as part of the NextGen series run by the promotion.

But controversially she threw an intentional headbutt in the second round with her opponent left bewildered on the ground during the exchange.

However the ‘Indian Tigress’ went on to secure unanimous decision victory and later admitted she wasn’t informed that the illegal move was prohibited in the sport.

Phogat admitted during the post-fight press conference: “I wasn’t aware that it wasn’t allowed. I really wasn’t aware of it but the minute the referee instructed me against it, I didn’t pursue it any further. I didn’t try it again, I respected the referee’s instructions.”

Headbutts are illegal in almost all forms of MMA despite previously being permitted in more extreme versions of the sport.






Often they can go unpunished by referees but the official on duty was quick to spot the illegal shot and informed Phogat with a warning.

And her opponent Olsin has admitted that shot caught her by surprise despite, anticipating it as a revenge for an accidental shot she threw earlier in the fight.

“I was shocked too when she head-butted me because I know that it was illegal and I saw that she did it on purpose,” she said.

“I think maybe it’s because of what happened in the 1st round but I really didn’t think that it was illegal to hit her in the 1st round, because I was having an adrenaline rush and yeah that’s it.

“So maybe in the first round when I hit her, when we were grounded, I’m sorry for that. When I saw her head-butting me, oh my gosh! That was on purpose.”

Olsim’s protests were clear but ultimately the decision was upheld and she suffered her first defeat after defeating previous opponents Bi Nguyen and Maira Mazar.







Do you think Ritu Phogat should have been disqualified? Let us know your verdict in the comments section below.

For Phogat however she has moved on to the final of the competition in dominant fashion where she will likely face Thai fighter Stamp Fairtex.

Despite suffering defeat in her first contest under the ONE banner, she has since reversed the blemish on her record with three consecutive victories including her latest exploit against Olsim.

And if she can negotiate the test against Fairtex in the final a title shot against reigning atomweight champion Angela Lee beckons.

Controversy has surrounded MMA in recent days with female fighter Ula Siekacz beaten by Piotrek Muaboy in an inter-gender bout.

And Siekacz was later forced to break her silence after suffering a bruising defeat and displayed her number of injuries.

The fight was later slammed as “scandalous” by fans as they questioned how the bout had been sanctioned.

A UFC referee was also suspended over the weekend after failing to stop a bout between Zaleski dos Santos and Benoit Saint-Denis after the latter suffered an “unnecessary” beating.


Read More





Read More







Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button