Premier League Hall of Fame 23-man shortlist announced as fans pick next six

The Premier League has released its 23-man shortlist to decide the next six players to join the Hall of Fame.

So far Arsenal legend and Invincible Thierry Henry and the competition’s all-time leading goal scorer and Newcastle hero Alan Shearer occupy the first two places.

Six more spots are set to be filled via a public vote, which comes to a close at 6 pm on Sunday, May 9.

Only players who have retired as of August 1, 2020, can be included.

The 23-man shortlist includes superstars who have represented such clubs as Manchester United, Arsenal, Chelsea, Tottenham, Newcastle, Liverpool and Southampton.

Thierry Henry and Alan Shearer have so far made the cut

The list includes one goalkeeper in Peter Schmeichel.

The defenders selected are Tony Adams, Sol Campbell, Ashley Cole, Rio Ferdinand, John Terry and Nemanja Vidic.

The midfielders to make the list include Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, Matt Le Tissier, Paul Scholes and David Beckham.

And finally, the strikers to make the cut are Andy Cole, Didier Drogba, Les Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler, Michael Owen, Robin van Persie, Eric Cantona, Patrick Vieira and Ian Wright.

* Fans can vote at and via the official Premier League app.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button