Spanish GP preview: Qualifying results, UK time and how to watch

Hamilton triumphed last weekend in Portugal to claim his second win of the campaign and extend his championship lead over the Dutchman to eight points.

Here’s all the information you need to tune in…

When is the 2021 Spanish Grand Prix?

The Spanish Grand Prix is scheduled to take place on Sunday, May 9, 2021 at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

Practice started on Friday, with qualifying on Saturday.

What time is the 2021 Spanish Grand Prix?

On Sunday, the race itself is scheduled to get underway at 2pm BST.


How can I watch the 2021 Spanish Grand Prix?

TV channel: The race will be shown LIVE on Sky Sports Main Event and F1 channels.

The race coverage starts on Sunday at 12.30pm BST.

Live stream: Subscribers can stream the action LIVE via the SkyGo website and app.

What happened in practice?

Lewis Hamilton was fastest in practice on Friday as the Mercedes driver prepared for a weekend that could bring him a record-stretching 100th Formula One pole position and boost his overall lead.

However, Verstappen – who had been second fastest in FP1 before dropping to ninth in FP2 – edged Hamilton for the fastest time in the third and final practice session.

Verstappen pushed his Red Bull to a session-best lap of 1m17.83s, with Hamilton 0.23s slower in his Mercedes.

Getty Images

Who is on pole?

Seven-time world champion Lewis Hamilton took the 100th pole position of his Formula One career on Saturday.

The Mercedes driver is the first Formula One driver to reach a century of pole positions.

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen qualified on the front row alongside the Briton, with Valtteri Bottas qualifying third for Mercedes.

Qualifying result in full

1 Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) Mercedes GP 1min 16.741secs

2 Max Verstappen (Ned) Red Bull 1:16.777

3 Valtteri Bottas (Fin) Mercedes GP 1:16.873

4 Charles Leclerc (Mon) Ferrari 1:17.510

5 Esteban Ocon (Fra) Alpine 1:17.580

6 Carlos Sainz Jr (Spa) Ferrari. 1:17.620

7 Daniel Ricciardo (Aus) McLaren 1:17.622

8 Sergio Perez (Mex) Red Bull 1:17.701

9 Lando Norris (Gbr) McLaren 1:18.010

10 Fernando Alonso (Spa) Alpine 1:18.147

11 Lance Stroll (Can) Aston Martin 1:17.974

12 Pierre Gasly (Fra) Scuderia AlphaTauri 1:17.982

13 Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Aston Martin 1:18.079

14 Antonio Giovinazzi (Ita) Alfa Romeo Racing 1:18.356

15 George Russell (Gbr) Williams 1:19.154

16 Yuki Tsunoda (Jpn) Scuderia AlphaTauri 1:18.556

17 Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Alfa Romeo Racing 1:18.917

18 Mick Schumacher (Ger) Haas F1 1:19.117

19 Nicholas Latifi (Can) Williams 1:19.219

20 Nikita Mazepin (Raf) Haas F1 1:19.807

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button