World Cup 2022 qualifying draw LIVE as England discover fate

England and the home nations will discover who they will face in qualification for the 2022 World Cup when the draw is made this evening in Zurich.

The Three Lions enjoyed a memorable run to the semi-finals of the last World Cup in 2018 before Croatia ended their hopes.

They eventually lost to France who will be aiming to win the tournament for a third time come 2022.

Before that though Southgate and his England side will have the chance to deliver silverware at this summer’s delayed European Championships.

The global pandemic forced its postponement meaning we will have international tournaments in successive years.

England failed to qualify for the UEFA Nations League Finals recently but did end their campaign with an impressive 4-0 win over Iceland at Wembley.

Gareth Southgate will lead England into a second World Cup

What time is the draw and which TV channel is it on?

The draw will get underway in Switzerland at 6pm – that is 5pm in the UK.

Mirror Sport will bring you live coverage of the event as it happens.

UEFA’s website will be offering a live stream of the event.

The Three Lions lost in the semi-finals two years ago

What pots are England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland in?

Gareth Southgate’s side will be drawn out of pot 1 due to their world ranking.

It means they will avoid world champions France as well as the likes of Spain, Portugal and Germany.

Scotland and Wales will both be involved in the competition and will have eyes on Qatar as well.

The Welsh are in pot 2 alongside the likes of Switzerland and Serbia while Scotland, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland are in pot 3.

The full list of pots is as follows

Pot 1: Belgium, France, England, Portugal, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Denmark, Germany, Netherlands

Pot 2: Switzerland, Wales, Poland, Sweden, Austria, Ukraine, Serbia, Turkey, Slovakia, Romania

Pot 3: Russia, Hungary, Republic of Ireland, Czech Republic, Norway, Northern Ireland, Iceland, Scotland, Greece, Finland

Pot 4: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, Bulgaria, Israel, Belarus, Georgia, Luxembourg

Pot 5: Armenia, Cyprus, Faroe Islands, Azerbaijan, Estonia, Kosovo, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Latvia, Andorra

Pot 6: Malta, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar, San Marino

France lifted the World Cup in 2018

How does World Cup qualifying work?

Teams will be split into groups of five of six – the four teams who reached next summer’s UEFA Nations League Finals will be drawn into the smaller groups.

The ten group winners qualify for the World Cup while the ten runners-up will go into the play-offs.

Qualification is poised to get underway at the end of March before concluding 12 months later.

The full list of dates are as follows

Matchday 1: 24–25 March 2021

Matchday 2: 27–28 March 2021

Matchday 3: 30–31 March 2021

Matchday 4: 1–2 September 2021

Matchday 5: 4–5 September 2021

Matchday 6: 7–8 September 2021

Matchday 7: 8–9 October 2021

Matchday 8: 11–12 October 2021

Matchday 9: 11–13 November 2021

Matchday 10: 14–16 November 2021

Play-offs: 24, 25, 28, 29 March 2022

* Worth noting that the 2022 World Cup will be the first ever to be held in the winter due to the intensity of Qatar’s summer climate.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button