France v New Zealand, Rugby World Cup 2023: when is it and how to watch on TV

Who is the referee?

South Africa’s Jaco Peyper will be the man in charge, with English duo Karl Dickson and Christophe Ridley as his assistants, and another Englishman, Tom Foley, as the television match official.

How to watch on TV

ITV have exclusive broadcast rights to show the Rugby World Cup in the UK. Coverage of the opening match will be on ITV1 from 6.45pm. Fans can also watch on the ITVX app.

Radio commentary will be available only on the BBC, across Radio 5 Live, 5 Sports Extra and the BBC Sounds service. The BBC says there will be a “bespoke output” in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

What is the recent history between the teams?

In their past five meetings, dating back to November 2017, New Zealand have won four times, with just one win for the French. New Zealand humbled their hosts 38-18 in Paris six years ago, then completed a 3-0 clean sweep over a touring France in June 2018, but lost 40-25 in the French capital in 2021 – Les Bleus’ first win over the All Blacks in 12 years.

Both France and New Zealand will be without their respective first-choice inside centres when the most hotly-anticipated opening World Cup match in history kicks off tomorrow night.

Jonathan Danty, France’s star centre, has failed in his late fitness charge to feature against the All Blacks at the Stade de France, while Jordie Barrett is also ruled out with a knee injury.

France XV: T Ramos; D Penaud, G Fickou, Y Moefana, G Villière; M Jalibert, A Dupont (c); R Wardi, J Marchand, U Atonio, C Woki, T Flament, F Cros, C Ollivon, G Alldritt.
Replacements: P Mauvaka, J-B Gros, D Aldegheri, R Taofifenua, P Boudehent, M Lucu, A Vincent, M Jaminet.

New Zealand XV: B Barrett; W Jordan, R Ioane, A Lienert-Brown, M Telea; R Mo’unga, A Smith; E De Groot, C Taylor, N Laulala; S Barrett, S Whitelock; D Papalii, S Cane (capt), A Savea. 
Replacements: S Taukei’aho, O Tu’ungafasi, F Newell, T Vaa’i, L Jacobson, F Christie, D Havili, L Fainga’anuku.

Who is in the France and New Zealand squads?

France World Cup squad

Forwards: Dorian Aldegheri, Gregory Alldritt, Uini Atonio, Cyril Baille, Paul Boudehent, Pierre Bourgarit, Francois Cros, Sipili Falatea, Thibaud Flament, Jean-Baptiste Gros, Anthony Jelonch, Sekou Macalou, Julien Marchand, Peato Mauvaka, Charles Ollivon, Romain Taofifenua, Reda Wardi, Paul Willemse, Cameron Woki. 
Backs: Louis Bielle-Biarrey, Baptiste Couilloud, Jonathan Danty, Antoine Dupont (captain), Gael Fickou, Antoine Hastoy, Matthieu Jalibert, Melvyn Jaminet, Maxime Lucu, Yoram Moefana, Damian Penaud, Thomas Ramos, Gabin Villiere, Arthur Vincent.

New Zealand World Cup squad

Forwards: Dane Coles, Samisoni Taukei’aho, Codie Taylor, Ethan de Groot, Nepo Laulala, Tyrel Lomax, Fletcher Newell, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Tamaiti Williams, Scott Barrett, Brodie Retallick, Tupou Vaa’I, Sam Whitelock, Sam Cane (captain), Shannon Frizell, Dalton Papalii, Luke Jacobson, Ardie Savea. 
Backs: Finlay Christie, Cam Roigard, Aaron Smith, Beuden Barrett, Damian McKenzie, Richie Mo’unga, Jordie Barrett, David Havili, Rieko Ioane, Anton Lienert-Brown, Caleb Clarke, Leicester Fainga’anuku, Emoni Narawa, Mark Telea, Will Jordan.

Source link

Back to top button