US

Woman with celiac disease reveals the surprising things that are NOT actually gluten-free

A blogger with celiac disease has revealed the surprising things that are not actually gluten-free, from oats to Twizzlers to some brands of sunscreen.

Gabby, who runs a blog called No Gluten Guru, shares gluten-free tips, recipes, and reviews on TikTok, and recently shared two videos exposing several surprising items that may have gluten.

In addition to a few unlikely foods that contain gluten, the US-based social media user also ran down several inedible products that may contain it — and could be a threat to those who are allergic. 

Diet: Gabby, the No Gluten Guru, suffers from celiac disease, which affects the body’s ability to absorb nutrients from food and can cause painful and uncomfortable symptoms

Who knew? On TikTok, she shared some unexpected things she learned are gluten-free, like oats — which may get mixed up with wheat before they even leave the ground

Who knew? On TikTok, she shared some unexpected things she learned are gluten-free, like oats — which may get mixed up with wheat before they even leave the ground

Nope! Soy sauce is not gluten free

However, she did point to the brand Tamari, which makes a gluten-free variety

Nope! Soy sauce is not gluten free. However, she did point to the brand Tamari, which makes a gluten-free variety

Not this, either! Twizzlers surprisingly are not gluten-free either

Not this, either! Twizzlers surprisingly are not gluten-free either

Bullion cubes aren't gluten-free

Fries should always be checked, because there might be cross-contamination

Check these! Bullion cubes aren’t gluten-free. Fries, meanwhile, should always be checked, because there might be cross-contamination

Most people think glutenous foods are all bread-based, but gluten — wheat proteins — can hide in other foods as well, particularly those that may be subject to cross-contamination.

That’s the case for oats, which may get mixed up with wheat before they even leave the ground. 

‘Oats are actually not gluten-free due to cross-contamination ’cause they grow so close to wheat, so make sure that you’re always buying ones that say “Certified Gluten-Free,”‘ Gabby says.

She also warns that Twizzlers, bullion cubes, and soy sauce are not gluten free. However, she did point to the brand Tamari, which makes a gluten-free variety. 

'Burts Bees is actually not gluten-free, and since it is going toward your mouth, I would suggest not [using] it,' Gabby says

‘Burts Bees is actually not gluten-free, and since it is going toward your mouth, I would suggest not [using] it,’ Gabby says

Stay away! She warns viewers with celiac disease to avoid Nivea brand products and Play-Do

Stay away! She warns viewers with celiac disease to avoid Nivea brand products and Play-Do

Stay away! She warns viewers with celiac disease to avoid Nivea brand products and Play-Do

Be careful! Licking the sticky part on envelopes can pose a threat to people with a gluten allergy

Be careful! Licking the sticky part on envelopes can pose a threat to people with a gluten allergy

What is celiac disease? 

Celiac disease is a genetic autoimmune disorder in which gluten leads to damage in the small intestine, causing inflammation which affects the body’s ability to absorb nutrients from food. 

The condition is estimated to affect one in 100 people worldwide, with about three million Americans living with the disease. 

There are more than 200 symptoms, with the most common ones including abdominal bloating and pain, chronic diarrhea, vomiting, constipation, weight loss, and fatigue.

The only treatment for the disease and is a strict gluten-free diet. 

 Source: Celiac Disease Foundation

‘You also want to make sure fries are Certified Gluten-Free before buying them because of cross-contamination,’ she says. 

In an Instagram post, she revealed that Chick-fil-a fries the gluten-free threshold, since they are ‘made in separate oil from their breaded chicken.’

But many of the items that Gabby lists aren’t edible or meant to be consumed at all.

For someone avoiding gluten for weight loss purposes or due to a mild sensitivity, inedible items with gluten aren’t a problem — but those who are allergic to gluten could find themselves having a severe reaction if exposed to even a little bit of it.

She warns viewers with celiac disease to avoid licking the sticky part on envelopes, Nivea brand products, and Play-Doh, none of which are gluten-free.

‘Burts Bees is actually not gluten-free, and since it is going toward your mouth, I would suggest not [using] it,’ Gabby adds.

Then there are several brands that aren’t made with gluten, but are not Certified Gluten-Free — and the companies warn that they can’t guarantee there aren’t trace amounts of it in their products.  

These include Nars, Banana Boat, Hawaiian Tropic, and Cetaphil.

Watch! Several brands aren't made with gluten, but are not Certified Gluten-Free — like Nars makeup

Watch! Several brands aren’t made with gluten, but are not Certified Gluten-Free — like Nars makeup

Companies like Banana Boat and Hawaiian Tropic warn that they can't guarantee there aren't trace amounts of it in their products

Companies like Banana Boat and Hawaiian Tropic warn that they can't guarantee there aren't trace amounts of it in their products

Possible gluten: Companies like Banana Boat and Hawaiian Tropic warn that they can’t guarantee there aren’t trace amounts of it in their products 

Cetaphil writes: 'Ingredients in our Cetaphil products are not recognized gluten sources; however, Galderma does not test for trace amounts of gluten that may be present'

Cetaphil writes: ‘Ingredients in our Cetaphil products are not recognized gluten sources; however, Galderma does not test for trace amounts of gluten that may be present’

Shocking! Perhaps the most surprising source of gluten is drywall. 'So when people are sanding and stuff, stay away,' Gabby says

Shocking! Perhaps the most surprising source of gluten is drywall. ‘So when people are sanding and stuff, stay away,’ Gabby says

On their website, Cetaphil writes: ‘Ingredients in our Cetaphil products are not recognized gluten sources; however, Galderma does not test for trace amounts of gluten that may be present in the ingredients or as a result of the manufacturing process. Additionally, ingredient suppliers may change.’

Gabby said that she used to use the brand’s moisturizer but always had a rash — and since she gave it up, the rash is gone. 

Perhaps the most surprising source of gluten is drywall.  

‘So when people are sanding and stuff, stay away,’ Gabby says.

Finally, she advises people to check all of their medicines and vitamins, since many can contain gluten.


Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button